Introduction

he château d'Emalleville once belonged to the Mailloc family and  was rebuilt in 1725 by François Duvert (Treasurer of France in the  Finance Office of the City of Rouen).

A typical Norman stately home built of white stones and red bricks, started restoration work in 1991 = the façades have been restored, the roofing entirely repaired using good quality slates and indoors has been completely redecorated, keeping the major original elements; fire places, panelling, wooden floors, tiles... Listed Historical Monument since 1996, the Château d'Emalleville now belongs to Mr and Mrs Arnaud TOURTOULOU.

Situated close to the centre of Emalleville village, the Château has rural views overlooking fields to the North and woodland to the South.

The park, also listed, is spread over 16 hectares around the Château.

 

  

To the North, the Château has a view over the courtyard, surrounded with lime trees and the two outhouses dating from the 18th Century which now accommodate guest bedrooms.

To the East, there are feudal remains dating from the 11th Century.

To the South, vast lawns are shaded by age old trees, and lined by a circular path of rare 18th Century lime trees. A central pond with its 18th Century statue creates the centrepiece.

Finally, to the West there is the ancient vegetable garden with the charming gardener's cottage, a totally renovated greenhouse, built in the beginning of the XIX century, a tennis court and a heated swimming pool.

The property is completed by a large orchard, a timber framed barn, and the original paddocks.


Haut de page